Question about a Roman helmet

This Collegium is devoted to discussion, research and the contribution to the Roman Republic of Articles, pictures, drawings, military reenactment, questions, comments and all other material relating to the purpose of the Militarium (Ancient Roman Military). Collegium Website: http://militarium.romanrepublic.org/ | Join at: http://romanrepublic.org/civitas/joint_ ... itarium/41

Moderators: Publius Iunius Brutus, Lucius Aurelius Curio, Gaius Flavius Aetius, Marca Marcia, Aula Flavia Philippa, Paullus Aemilius Gallus

Question about a Roman helmet

Postby Gnaeus Iulius Caesar » Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:38 am

Salve,

I'm new to Roman reenacting and I've recently acquired a imperial Gallic helmet. It has no interior webbing or a way to tie the side flaps. What did the Romans wear under their helmets and how did they tie it?
Gnaeus Iulius Caesar

Re: Question about a Roman helmet

Postby Titus Flavius Severus » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:15 am

Severus sal.,

Greetings to you, Caesar. We, those who are engaged in historical reenactment, do not write in this group and do not answer here, so if in the future you have questions, then you can contact them with experienced reenactors here.

viewforum.php?f=43

However, as an exception, I will be happy to answer your question here. Unfortunately, I do not know how English denotes what is worn under a helmet, so I will use the literal in front of the Russian language: "underhelmet". Conditionally, all types of "underhelmet" can be divided into just two types, these are "sewn" "underhelmet" and "separate".