Gods and spirits of place

This message board is dedicated to the ancient Roman Religion, the Cultus Deorum Romanorum. Here both historical practices and the living modern tradition is to be celebrated and discussed. The members of the Collegium Pontiificum and Collegium Augurum host this board as moderators and are happy to answer questions.

Gods and spirits of place

Postby Numerius Antonius Paullus » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:25 am

Salve!

Pardon my naivety when it comes to this matter but since I am new to learning about the Cultus I have a very interesting question that perhaps could be posed and discussed. I live in Oregon, Springfield to be more specific and I am surrounded by mighty rivers and forests. If I remember my mythology correct, many rivers had a spirt that resided in them, or a god that would call it home. So would those spirits be the same as those from the mythos, I apologize if I forget the proper name for said spirits of place. Would that mean there is a god/goddess/spirit of the Willamate, Columbia, McKenzie rivers here about with namesakes that have yet to be put down in the annals of the Cultus or would there be a spirit already there with a name that is known.

I know this may seem like an odd question to pose but it has been on my mind as I begin to learn more about the Roman Way and how I fit into it spiritually and intellectually. Thank you for your time and consideration on this matter.

Vale!

N. Antonius Paullus
Numerius Antonius Paullus

Re: Gods and spirits of place

Postby Gaius Curtius Philo » Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:09 pm

Salve Paulle!

Yes, each river and each place have its own particular god. Rivers tend to be male gods. The names of these gods might be known to native americans where you live or, if not, can be the name of the river itself or a derived term. If all else fsil, a deity from a place can be addressed as "be you god or goddess, by whatever name you prefer".
"Ignis aurum probat" - Seneca